My Council

Home > Council > Council Committees & Representatives

Council Committees & Representatives

Council’s current representatives on committees can be found here Council Representatives on Committees

Council Committees:

  • Finance Committee
  • Planning Authority
  • Parks and Recreation Committee
  • Environment & Climate Committee
  • Waste Management Committee
  • Emergency Management Advisory Committee
  • Community Development Committee
  • General Managers Performance Review Committee
  • Audit Panel

External Committees:

  • TasWater
  • Southern Tasmanian Council’s Association (STCA)
  • Local Government Association of Tasmania (LGAT)
  • Cycling South
  • Hobart Fire Management Area Committee
  • Southern Tasmanian Regional Waste Authority (STRWA)
  • South Central Sub-Region (SCS)

Under the Local Government Act 1993, Section 23 provides the following information relating to Council committees:

(1)  A council may establish, on such terms as it thinks fit, council committees to assist it in carrying out its functions under this or any other Act.
(2)  A council committee consists of councillors appointed by the council and any councillor who fills a vacancy for a meeting at the request of the council committee.
(3)  A meeting of a council committee is to be conducted in accordance with prescribed procedures.